{ Chocolate Macadamia Brownies & the ups and downs of life }

  Good day to you ladies and gentlemen,

Today I have been thinking a lot about trials and tribulations, success and happiness. Although this may be a forlorn topic for many of you, I became aware of the reality of life’s trials recently after being unsuccessful with an interview. To be honest, sometimes it feels as though no matter how much love and time you put into your dreams, they are always just out of reach. Such is the spectrum by which i have been measuring my happiness over the last few weeks . However, while I may have lost the opportunity to start my career, I realise now that my time spent baking sweet treats makes me happy. So remember folks, although you may not get paid, time spent doing things you love is not time wasted.

I have fun baking! there, I said it.

P1010376

I guess you can see where I’m going with this – my time spent creating a delicious batch of chocolate macadamia brownies last week was not a waste of time, but one of the happiest. It gave me happiness and pleasure, and it is now my pleasure to share it with you. Although you physically cannot stick your head into the computer, and although you may want to, you can just as easily make these yourselves and find a little happiness in the process.

P1010379

As they say, life goes on…. But brownies make life worth living! and also macadamia’s! MMMMMYUM.

P1010367

{ Chocolate Macadamia Brownie }

200g butter, softened
100g dark organic chocolate, chopped
3 eggs
1 cup caster sugar
2/3 cup plain flour
100g macadamias, roughly rushed

{ Directions }

1. Preheat over to 150C. The recipe I used suggested using a 22cm springform pan, but I decided to use a standard brownie tray lined with baking paper. You can use any shape and size you want.
2. Melt chocolate and butter together in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water (not boiling). Continue stirring until the chocolate and butter is fully melted. The key here is to not burn the chocolate mixture and continuous stirring and a low simmer for the water will ensure this. Put bowl aside to cool.
3. with an electric mixer whisk eggs and caster sugar together until thick and pale. About 5 to 6 minutes.
4. Fold in chocolate mixture into egg batter. Do not whisk. Be gentle with your mixture. Love your mixture.
5. Fold in flour and macadamias. Spoon batter into prepared pan and smooth the brownie mixture so it evens out into the corners.
6. Bake until just firm to touch. Around 20-25 minutes depending on your oven. Cool completely in pan and cut in squares or use a cookie cutter to cut into circles.

Most importantly, Remember to enjoy your time baking. Be happy, and waste time.

L&S

Leave a Reply

