{ Mini Lemon Cupcakes }

cupcake4

Hello fellow food lovers!

I hope all thee far well. This week has been hectic. Surprisingly I have come through unscathed and with a fridge full of mini lemon cupcakes! any week that ends in mini cupcakes is alright in my book. Speaking of – although my week was hectic I still found the time finish ready a book trilogy as well as bake some fresh bread, snuggle my kitty, and go on a faux-zombie/apocalyptic adventure here in Brisbane. Not working 9 to 5 has its perks!

Although my life may seem like fun, underneath lurks the bitter battle of progress. At the moment I’m searching for jobs in museums/galleries and trying to break through the overwhelming fact that I’m no longer a student. I no longer participate in lectures and heated conversations about history and politics. I am no longer allowed to research and study for the sole purpose of concisely articulating 20,000 words of knowledge into a mere 5,000 word essay. And most painful of all, I no longer get student prices at my local cinema. Indeed life is a struggle at the moment, but when I bake, or garden, or sit on the grass and have some tea, watching the world pass by, I know I will survive this “limbo” phase of my life and move onto better things.

Anyway, enough about me! How are you? Although I have no way of knowing your response to this question I know deep down inside you are all ecstatic about these mini lemon cupcakes! and if you’re not – you should be! My husband has now nearly eaten them all and I blame it on the size. Eating four in a row just doesn’t seem like your eating a whole muffin sized cupcake. Be warned.

CUPCAKE

{ Mini Lemon Cupcakes }

1-1/2 Cups (190 g) self-rising flour
1-1/4 Cups (160 g) plain flour
1 Cup  (227 g) unsalted butter, softened
1-1/2 Cups (400 g) caster sugar
2 Tsp of grated lemon zest
1 Tbsp of freshly squeezed lemon juice
4 Large eggs, at room temperature
1 Cup milk
1 Tsp pure vanilla

{ Vanilla buttercream frosting }

340 g unsalted butter, softened and cut into cubes
3.5 Cups (400 g) icing sugar, sifted
3 Tbsp thickened cream
1 Tsp pure vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

{ Directions }

1. Preheat over to 175° C
2. Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside
3. With your electric mixer cream the butter on medium speed until smooth and almost pale. Gradually add the caster sugar until the mixture is light and fluffy. This usually takes between 5-8 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time and beat well after each addition. Once the egg in incorporated add the vanilla and beat on low until just combined.
4. Add the ingredients from the dry bowl into the wet mixture. Make sure to do this in 3 parts, alternating with the milk. Finally incorporate lemon zest and juice and mix with a spatula until just combined.
5. Using a small spoon, spoon the batter into mini cupcake tin (with liners). Make sure you don’t overfill the mini cupcake liners. While it is tempting to fill each liner, between half way and 3/4 of the way is enough to allow for rising and will still them from over-spilling.
6. Put them in the oven and cook for 10-15 minutes depending on the oven. Because they are small they will cook fast. I recommend taking the cupcakes out before they start to turn “golden”. This will ensure they are nice a soft and do not burn at the bottom
7. Cool the cupcakes in tins for 10 minutes and then remove from tins and cool completely before icing.

{ Buttercream Directions }

1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, whip butter for 8 minutes on medium speed. Butter will become very pale & creamy.
2. Add the thickened cream to butter, along with all remaining ingredients and mix on low speed for 1 minute, then on medium speed for 6 minutes. Frosting will be very light, creamy, and fluffy.
3. (optional) Add 2 drops of yellow food colouring along with 1/2 a drop of red food colouring to create a pale apricot affect to the buttercream.

CUPCAKE2

L&S

One thought on “{ Mini Lemon Cupcakes }

Leave a Reply

