{ Banana Bread }

Winter is here!

IMG_8907

I can’t begin to describe my love for winter. The clothes, the hats, the warm blankets, actually liking the sun in Australia because it’s not burning your skin off! So many good things! Even though I can’t feel my fingers or toes for three months, I get to snuggle my husband and my cat (Max) and that’s the best family time you can have!

To combat the recent lower temperatures we’ve experienced here in Brisbane, I decided to make a cozy, warm, goody filled Banana Bread. As I was rambling on last week, I tend to buy too much fresh produce – and bananas are my weakness. They’re good in everything! chopped up in vanilla yogurt, blended with blueberries for a fresh smoothie, or my personal favorite with a big spoonful of nutella. I’ve been meaning to make Banana bread for a while and luckily I had  few ripe bananas on hand. The recipe I used to make the Banana Bread is from one of my favorite cooking blogs – My New Roots. This blog has definitely inspired me in the kitchen. From using wholefoods to simply adding extra nuts, seeds, and other raw ingredients into everyday dishes. My favorite recipe would have to be The Raw Brownie. It’s amazing and I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve made it over the past year – Countless!

IMG_8915

You can check out the recipe Here. I’ve also listed the ingredients and directions below.

Be warm, be cozy, and ENJOY!

{ Cozy Banana Bread } – By My New Roots

¼ Cup milk of your choice (almond, hemp, cow, goat, soy)
6 Tbsp olive oil or coconut oil
6 Tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 ¼ Cups mashed ripe bananas (approximately 5 medium bananas)
2 Cups plain white or wholemeal flour (preferabley organic)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp. sea salt
1 Cup chopped nuts + seeds (I used walnuts, sunflower seeds, chia, and hazelnuts)
¾ Cup chopped dark chocolate (1 standard 100 g bar) – optional

{ Directions }
1. Preheat oven to 175C
2. Line an 8” x 8” cake pan or loaf pan with baking paper, or lightly oil and dust with flour, shaking out excess.
3. Put the milk, oil, maple syrup, vanilla, and bananas in a blender and blend until smooth.
4. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients. Add banana mixture and combine using as few stroked as possible. Fold in nuts and chocolate.
5. Pour into a cake pan and smooth the top. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (30-50 minutes)

 IMG_8911

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10993823/?claim=prty4992pe4″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a comment